QA : COPOUT

COPOUT.jpg

1.Who are you?

My name is Brian and i current live in New York.

2.What do you do?

I produce and dj under the moniker Copout.

3.Where do you often create/produce?

I have a studio in my apartment.

4.When?

Really I try to spend as much time in the studio as possible even if I’m struggling creatively I’ll still be in studio trying to work through different things or take time to learn new techniques  

5.Why do you play music?

I really play mostly as a way to enter a space where I’m not thinking about much else other than reflecting on different things and what’s going on in the world surrounding me.  

6.When did you start making music?

Music has always been a part of my life even as a little kid studying cello. I didn’t start really making my own stuff though until I was probably 13 when some friends and I started a band.

7.Which track defines you the most?

That an impossible question. I’m a gemini.

8.How would you describe your own music?

Somewhat minimal melodic and suspenseful but it never really releases.

9.Any track of the moment?

I’ve been all over the place with that I been listening to recently.  Trying to take as much in as possible and absorb everything.

10.What influences your work?

Nature definitely. Living in NY I’m always imagining hovering above various landscapes while making things.  

11.What’s your academic background? Are you an autodidact?

I played cello pretty seriously until the I was 20. I also went to Tyler School of Art and studied Sculpture but neither really inform and taught me too much of where I’m at currently with music,

12.Favorite designer?

Not so much a brand but outdoor technical gear usually.

13.Favorite book?

Currently reading The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin and enjoying it, but i don’t know about a favorite.

14.Favorite classic movie?

Metropolis. I think of that movie everytime I walk through a subway turnstile.

15.Favorite music label?

Big ones would be PTP, Liminal Sounds, Hyperdub, PAN, NAFFI, Mistry, Timedance, Glacial Industries, Halcyon   

16.Your dream collaboration?

Anna Thorvaldsdottir & Ikonika

17.Are you analog or digital?

Combination of both.

18.Which soft wares/tools/ instruments do you use/play?

Been using my Elektron Digitakt, Korg Minilogue, Yamaha CS1X, VolcaBeats, Alesis HR16, Tascam 414, Logic.

19.Describe your creative process?

Usually start with a beat & percussion then work out from there.  

20.When are you the most prolific (creatively)?

Evening and Night for sure.

21.Any favorite record stores? (Real/virtual)

None in particular most of the time I’m just scouring the internet.

22.What’s your life philosophy? (Optimistic/pessimistic)

Overly realistic optimist.

23.Do you have a healthy lifestyle?

I try.

24.How do you manage your time effectively? (Job/hobby)

I really try making sure with a day job that I am also scheduling time for the studio and not just hoping I find the time. Especially with collaborations I try setting some schedule.

25.Any secret skills?

Can parallel park anything and I’m a  professional rock skipper.

26.Any future plans?

Been stepping out of my comfort zone musically and working on some really amazing new projects and collaborations.  Moving further out the sphere of club music.

27.What’s your life motto?

Drink more water.

28.Any “mot de la fin”?

Nope