Default (Phases) – Default 0005


Default, “digital offshoot” project of the label SM-LL, lead by Martin J. Thompson, just made its first release.

“Default 005” consists of five tracks with a bonus  track of 33 minutes mix which combines all the tracks. According to the artist statement, each track has been created of either the combination of reworked material from uploads found at or new material created by the use of Nord Modular patches.

We found the conceptual approach of this project brilliant. Besides, each tracks presents a mystical appeal that transcends our ability to define our understanding of what music is.

Undoubtedly,  the neutrality of the composition empowers the listening experience.

On the other hand, we  found interesting how the raw material is progressively evolving toward a sophisticated complex structure..