Steve Reich – New York Counterpoint III (Neo_impressioniste )



Few days ago, Neo_impressioniste, composer based in Japan, released his interpretation of Steve Reich’s composition “NewYork Counterpoint”, which was originally released in 1985. The composition is divided into three movements;  fast, slow and fast which main intention was to imitate acoustically electronic sounds.

We found this version of the third movement quite brilliant.

We liked how the Korg Ds-10 brings a new-contemporary approach to the original. We also liked how the primary intention is conceptually reversed, electronic sounds are allegro orchestrated to recreate an acoustic atmosphere..

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s